Why Blog?

I am a perfectionist.  I want to do everything I do to the best of my ability and even then there are times that I am still not pleased with it.  My Type A personality is one reason why I have not attempted to blog with any consistency before now.  As I have now been forced to blog (It’s for a class and I have to do my best to complete those requirements, right?), I find myself critiquing my work.  What can I do to make this better, etc.?  Wes Fryer gave me several good suggestions in his blog post, 10 Ways to Better Blog Posts, but I’m still not satisfied that my writing and thoughts were up to those I expected in the blogs I read.  Today, however, I came upon a post that might have been written for me.  Improve Your Blog: Stop Writing for an Audience, the title read.  What?  Wait a minute!  I thought the reason you blogged was to share with an audience your reflections and ideas about a topic.  Mark Schaefer, however, has freed me from those shackles.  Write, he says, for yourself first and the audience will find you.  Hmm, food for thought as I assess the reasons why I might have my students’ blog and how I should teach them to approach blogging even when blogging is being used as an assessment tool in a class.

This entry was posted in Blogs, Thinking Out Loud. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why Blog?

  1. Mark Schaefer says:

    It always makes my day when a blog post connects with somebody like this! Thank you for such a sweet sentiment and for writing this powerful post, Lori!

    • Lori Carter says:

      Thanks for stopping by Mark and for commenting. As a teacher, I am always trying to find ways to teach my students that everyone has a voice and something to say. Your post emphasized that a person’s own interests, thoughts, etc. are important and are important enough to share. Through the connectiveness of technology, there will be someone to listen.

  2. Interesting point. After the criteria we must meet for our class I will give that recommendation the attention it is due – and see what happens! Thanks Lori.

    • Lori Carter says:

      Thanks for commenting Cynthia. It’s an interesting approach and I think it has much merit, too. I was thinking about the criteria for our blogs as assessment tools when I read Mark’s post. I think it is important when using a blog for assessment to have such criteria, but I do think that the criteria should be loose enough to still allow for freedom of expression to a large extent. (I do think we have that freedom here as long as we meet our reflective criteria.) If an instructor makes blogging such a chore and ignores the need of students for that expression then I doubt students ever blog on their own. It’s much the same argument I make about reading. We must teach students that reading is not a chore, but an experience that they want to repeat time and again.

Leave a Reply

