Module 3: Inspiration — Quite Frankly, I Need Some!

Writing learning objectives is not my favorite thing to do as a teacher.  At least not in the formats required by institutions of higher learning.  (How many schools actually require that objectives be written in educationalese?)  By the time I get through reading objectives written including who, what, format, degree, etc., my brain hurts so much, I’m not sure how much learning I’m going to do.  What is ironic to me is that more often than not the educational classes requiring that their students  write objectives in this way seldom write their own learning objectives using the same format.  It is much easier for me and for the students I have taught to break up learning objectives, activities, and assessments.  This is what we are going to learn, this is how we are going to learn it, and this is how I am going to check and see if you learned it (using, of course, measurable verbs).   All right, so much for my own personal rant and observations regarding learning objectives  :).

One of our assignments this week was to write some measurable objectives for a current or potential online course and map the relationship between objectives, activities and relationships.  Learning, activities and assessments are all intertwined in a great learning environment with some assessment happening within the activities so that the instructor can modify instruction as needed.  Assessment should never be an add on activity at the end of a unit, but an essential part of the instruction.  The learning process is seldom linear which makes concept mapping a great method of outlining a potential unit or course.

With this in mind, I created this concept map using Inspiration to detail the learning process I envision for teaching students literary analysis within literature circles.

This entry was posted in Assessment in E-Learning, Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Module 3: Inspiration — Quite Frankly, I Need Some!

  1. singhb3503 says:

    Lori, your rant is easily understandable by anyone working in the education field. However, you have done a beautiful job of creating the concept map. The reading and Google activities are very creative. What grade are these activities for? You have lots of activities and some assessments. This is great because we don’t want to be bogged down by assessments, but we want students to participate in all the meaningful learning activities. Bhaskar Singh

  2. Lori Carter says:

    Hi Bhaskar,
    Thanks for your comment. I know that writing objectives in that way serves a purpose, it just drives me nuts. 🙂

    As for the activities included in the map, I taught fifth grade two years and I wanted to do something similar to this when I taught literary analysis then. This year I am serving as the Director of Library Media / Technology Integration at my school and because I am most familiar with the fifth grade curriculum that is where I started with developing some integrated lessons.

    Lori

  3. Datta Kaur says:

    Lori, I have found that if a student in this course can write a ‘best’ learning objective, then planning clarity shines through! You are almost there! From my examination of your concept map, you have the learning goal, the activity (behavior) and know how students will display their learning. The criteria for displaying that learning can happen with a rubric. So the left side of your concept map can be covered by this simple but ‘best’ learning objective, “Students will display their ability to understand, locate and present geographical settings through the use of Google earth with at least 90% accuracy according to the provided rubric .”
    Hope this helps and thank you for your fairly clear graphic display of your course plans. You may want to make a second rendition of the concept map for your final project – a bit simpler version, more easily understood and followed by anyone. Thanks. ~ Datta Kaur

Leave a Reply

